Notes from mommy

So, this is what happens when your only son goes to a party on a Saturday evening and decides to sleep over at a friend’s house instead of coming home in the wee hours…

Mom is left at home on a Sunday morning, finding time to rummage through old stuff — mainly old albums… and realize once again that time does fly so very fast

I can’t believe he is now 17 years old and will be off to college in several months. I know that he is still quite uncertain of what he really wants to become in the future. As parents, don’t we sometimes wish we can just make the decisions for our children to make things easier for them?

But surely, that shouldn’t be so. Our children still have to make their own choices and decisions. They have to live their lives. We are here to just guide and direct, provide pep talk when needed, and maybe an occasional push. 

Sometimes the most we can do is to put some fun in their lives… 

Because son isn’t home, mom is free to blog about him yet again– and unabashedly so…

miggy-blog-1-001

“Oh no mommy… NOT again?! “

Yes, sweetie. Sorry there’s just one of you that I can pick on. But I promise I will be nice. 🙂

So, this is Miguel. My unico hijo. 

We have always known that he is scholarly. He has enjoyed studying and learning even as a very young child…

If you’re going to be a nerd, be a cool one…

… and choose the right role models…

miggy-blog-4-001

… and yes, you have to pursue your passions, too.

We have always known that Miguel likes to perform…

I think he already knew then that he will one day try to emulate this guy named…

miggy-blog-7-001

Bruno Mars

Oh, wait, I think Miguel has something to say…

miggy-blog-6-003

“Seriously? You had to drag Bruno Mars into this?! Stop mom, you are embarrassing me…”

Thought balloon: “Wait, the sign said Dress Up Like Pooh, WHY am I dressed like a bumblebee??”

Miggy blog 7 002.jpg

“This is for dressing me up like a bee…”

miggy-blog-8-001

“… and for posting my pictures!”

miggy-blog-9-001

“I am sooo embarrassed I’ll just hide…”  

miggy-blog-8-002

“…or I’ll just eat sushi and give you a deadly stare!!”

Seriously, my child, you can be anything you want… You can be a genius and a charmer, and you can be a great performer like Bruno. 

You can be anything you set your mind to be. Just always strive to be the best YOU. That’s all we ask.

Remember, the world is your oyster. Explore and enjoy!

And just like what good old Leonardo di Caprio’s Jack in Titanic said…

miggy-blog-9-002

“I’m the king of the world!”

Own it.

photos from the treasure chest of memories are all mine 🙂 

Leave a Reply

