Daybreak

sunrise

new every morning…

I am not a morning person.  I am used to staying up late at night — reading, watching TV or going online, googling stuff I want to learn more about. Sometimes I get the inspiration to write late at night when the whole house is quiet.  Midnight inspirations, that’s what I call them.

For the past month or so, however, I got into the habit of waking up at 5:00am, more than an hour earlier than my normal weekday wake up sked.  At times I find myself up even earlier than 5am. For some reason, my mind is just so alive and awake that there’s no point in trying to go back to sleep.

And so I get up, make my first cup of coffee for the day, I go to the living room and perch at one corner of the couch — my favorite corner. Every single morning for the past month.

img_20161026_074223

My early morning corner 

With the whole house very quiet, darkness still covers the sky outside, only a few vehicles can be heard traversing the street… everything seems peaceful early morning.  I am in my own quiet world.

So there in my little corner, I read my bible… I listen to worship songs… I ready myself for the day that is to come. I use this time to ponder on things, recall the previous day’s events and think about the future. Truly there are so many things one can think about when she is all alone at 5 in the morning.

And then it happens.

As I sit and stare out the living room window, I begin to see the sunlight slowly peeking out the morning sky.

Daybreak.

Little by little, the darkness disappears. I also begin to hear the chirping of the birds. I am enthralled. 

Not all mornings are the same. Sometimes I wake up giddy in anticipation for the day’s events. Sometimes I wake up with a heavy feeling. Sometimes I don’t feel fully awake — like I am just on auto-pilot. And yet every single time that I get to witness the breaking of the day, something stirs within me… it wakes me up, gives life to my senses.

Hope.

As I catch the light first appearing in the morning sky, I get reminded that a new day is waiting to unravel. I am reminded that I get to start again on a clean slate… that I am given another chance to try again and to do better.  I can be expectant of awesome things to happen. 

Daybreak also reminds me to leave yesterday’s hurts, heartaches, worries and fears behind.  As dark as the sky may have earlier been, the moment light appears, darkness begins to dissipate. Light wins. 

It is a brand new day.

And God’s mercy is fresh and new every morning.  Yes, every single morning.

*****

daybreak photo via google images; the couch is mine 🙂 

 

 

Leave a Reply

