Reflections

anchor

God keeps me safe

Psalms 46:1 “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.”

**ANCHOR. Picture a ship at a dock. It does not go anywhere, but it still moves. It follows the ebb and flow of the waves. It doesn’t stay still. The wind and the water move it. To and fro, side to side. Sometimes the current is smooth and the waves move slowly, softly. At times, the waters are rough.

Anchors are used to keep the ship in place. It is supposed to connect the ship to the seabed, to provide a firm hold so as to prevent the vessel from drifting.

Certain situations and circumstances in life make it difficult for us to stay still. Just like a sea vessel, we go where the wind and the current take us. It is easy to drift away, get lost in the storm, crash into big rocks… Not unless you have an anchor that will keep you in place. An anchor that will not let you drift away, despite the storm that is brewing around you.

Everyday I thank God for being my Anchor. I rest in the knowledge that no matter how hard the wind blows and how strong the currents are, He keeps me in place. I know that even when I get weary and just too exhausted, He will provide me with that firm hold so that I will not drift far away.

He will do the work that on my own I will not be able to do. 

What is your anchor? WHO is your anchor? Who keeps you in place and keeps you at peace? ❤

***

A couple of months ago, I decided that I will begin each week with a Bible verse and my reflections posted on my Facebook account. I tried to be consistent… unfortunately, it wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be. Mondays will pass without me being able to post anything… Sometimes one whole week passes — no Bible verse, no reflection.

Things happen. We don’t always get to do what we planned to do. We get preoccupied. We get so busy. We turn our attention elsewhere. Life happens.

But then despite the chaos, the busyness, all of a sudden we find ourselves with extra time in our hands. Time we can use to think, to reflect… to pray.

This is one of those times. Today was one of those days. I was able to post my reflections on Facebook… And then I told myself, why not share it in my blog, as well?

I may not be able to do this consistently every Monday, but I will try. Sometimes, an encouraging word is all we need to get us through the day — or week.

Have a blessed week! 🙂

*****

photo via google images

Leave a Reply

