Me moments ’16

joy

choose it EVERY DAY

I was going over my things and I found the very first article that I wrote for the parenting magazine Mommy Academy way back in 2009.  I shared in this article the things I do when I am stuck in a rut and I just need to lift my spirits up.

Fast forward to today, 7 years later, I can truthfully say that I still do the same things. I am pretty consistent!

Thought of sharing with you the write up.  🙂

***

Me Moments

13820404_10153898093828737_1507473714_n

fr0m 2009

Ever had one of those days when there are a lot of things needed to be done that 24 hours simply are not enough? Ever had one of those days when no matter how many cups of coffee you drink, you still cannot find the energy to stay alert? Or that you feel so tired at the end of the day that you practically have to crawl to get to bed at night?

I have been having a lot of those days lately. I am like a battery running on low that I have begun to lose focus. Worse, I try to find solace in chocolate chip cookies! But for some reason, no amount of sugar or caffeine in my system can seem to boost my energy level. I still feel exhausted. I am physically here, but I seem to be functioning on auto pilot.

Months ago, I came up with a list of surefire ways to lift my spirits up when I feel I an stuck in a rut, like right now. I call them my “Me Moments.” Let me share them with you:

  • Go to the spa. Nothing beats a good massage when my bones and muscles are just so tired and aching!
  • Project: Beautification. A good haircut, different hair color for a nice new look, a little makeup, manicure and pedicure — these all make me feel likea new person — totally refreshed and reenergized. I live by the motto, “When you look good, you feel good.” 
  • Retail therapy. Yes, shopping is another cure all. It doesn’t have to be grand. One small purchase is enough to brighten up my day.
  • Having coffee with friends. Being with friends remind me that there is life outside my home. Whether we talk about something significant or trivial, my friends will neither judge nor condemn. They just listen.
  • Writing on my diary. I have had diaries since I was 12. They have seen me through good times and bad. My diaries contain my thoughts, fears, secrets, and the many humiliating moments I have experienced. They also contain special moments. When no one is around to listen, I can always vent onto my diary. It is therapeutic to reread the past entries — relive the good moments and reminisce.  It also helps to be reminded that once (or twice) in my life, I came across really trying times — and came out of it unscathed.  My diaries serve as reminder that sadness is fleeting. I can choose to be happy.
  • Reading a good book. Reading brings me to different worlds and lets my imagination run wild. More so, it takes me away from the present time… even for the meantime.
  • Singing. Yes, I like to sing when I’m depressed. My anthem being, “I Will Survive.” What’s your own pick-me-up song?
  • Watching my all-time favorite movies. The Lake House, Titanic, Love Affair, The Count of Monte Cristo — they work like magic all the time.
  • Doing something creative. I have long accepted that I am not an artist. I cannot draw. But I can write. And so I write.
  • Sleep. Something I deprive myself of. But a quick nap works wonders. Imagine what a full 8 to 10 hours can do?
  • Doing charity work. Instead of focusing on what I don’t have, I look at the things that I have in abundance and share them. Little things or little acts of kindness go a long way. When you see the smiles on other people’s faces because of something that you did or you shared, the feeling is simply incomparable.
  • Reading the Bible. My true refuge during times of weariness. it helps bring back hope, and brings things back to its proper perspective. This great Book reminds me that I am not alone, that I should not be discouraged, and that I am blessed.

Sometimes we get so caught up in the hustle and bustle of everyday life that we forget to recharge. Yes, time is precious. Every moment that passes is a moment gone forever. But we can’t let our moments be just about our daily chores. We have to find time to nurture ourselves, spirit, mind, and body.

When we feel complete, we are able to wholeheartedly give our best.

***

Me Moments 2016. Oh, and you may now add these to the list:

Taking selfies. Come on, you all know about this by now! I even blogged about my selfie skills  (see Me, Myself and I).

Listening to praise and worship songs. Makes me feel closer to my Creator. It gives me the peace that I need and the strength that I pray for. Works.Every. Single. Time. ❤

***

“The LORD is my strength and my shield; My heart trusted in Him and I am helped; Therefore my heart greatly rejoices, And with my song I will praise Him.” -Ps. 28:7

******

Me Moments, by Betsy Gacutan-Ochosa. Originally published in Mommy Academy magazine’s “How-to Issue,” 2009. Magazine photo is the author’s; Joy photo via google images.

Leave a Reply

