Blogging day #2

blogging

Coffee is vital in blogging…

 

I began the year with a blog (Yey for me!).

As I ushered in the new year, the plan — or the goal — was to write regularly, have a blog entry everyday if possible.  The operative word there being “everyday”  and not “if possible.”

It is now January 5, and so far this is my 2nd blog entry for the year. Hmm… Is that bad??

In case you guys are interested to know what goes on behind the scenes as I compose a masterpiece of a blog, let me give you an idea…

Writing is my passion.  I keep saying that.  I can express myself better through the written word.  But of course the ideas always begin in the mind.  I hear conversations in my head even before I put them down on paper. Just so we are clear, I am not schizophrenic or anything.  I just test out lines or sentences in my head before I actually write them down or type them on the computer.  Other writers probably do the same thing… or maybe not.

But anyhow, that’s how it starts for me… I get an idea, I ‘run’ it in my head, then I jot the words down before I lose them. I get excited, I write or type a few lines… and then after which, most of the time, I go blank.

When I say blank, I mean BLANK. 

So I stand up, make myself a cup of coffee. I wait for the next wave of inspiration to come.  And then I get distracted by the tv.

Just a while ago, the latest episode of Supergirl was on air.  I sat in front of the tv a few minutes… okay, until the episode ended. (It was quite an interesting episode so I thought of finishing it.)

After making coffee and watching a bit of tv, I go back in front of my computer.  Did I tell you that my desktop is right beside my cabinet which has a full length mirror?  So every time I turn to look at my left, I see myself (hard at work?! I wish!).  And when I see my reflection, I remember the things that I forgot to do — like put moisturizer on my face, for one!

I stop what I’m doing and I get my moisturizer… and my body lotion… and oh yeah, maybe I should put a little make up on so I won’t look too pale. Besides, you’ll never know who will drop by and visit.

Moisturizer, check. Lotion, check, lipstick and eyeliner, check. A dab of cologne, check.  I comb my hair, make sure it’s straight and not stringy. And then I am all set.

What was it that I was doing in the first place??? Oh yeah, blogging. I was trying to blog.  That mirror can be very distracting.

I suddenly get a surge of inspiration, so I once again head back to my computer and key in a few paragraphs… And then the dogs outside start barking, calling for attention. I pretend not to hear at first.  Can’t shut them out for long, though, so I stand up once again.

This is why I prefer to do my writing in the middle of the night when it’s quiet and every one’s asleep. Less distractions.  As long as I have my coffee, I’m good to go.

***

What is the formula in coming out with a good article?   When is the best time to write? When do you get the inspiration?

To be honest about it in my writing experience, the articles (write ups, published essays, blogs and what have yous) that I most liked or that I thought were the nicest were the ones which I thought about at the craziest times.  Be it while I’m in the shower… or while I’m doing the grocery… or yes, in the middle of the night when everyone’s asleep but me.

Most of these write ups begin on a small piece of paper. Because when you suddenly get that inspiration to write, well, you just grab the nearest blank paper you can find and let the words flow.

Sitting in front of the computer hoping the words will magically appear on the screen just don’t work.  Most often than not I end up stalking people on Facebook (that was a joke! Of course I don’t stalk people on Facebook…) 😉

My advice: When inspiration comes, grab it! Run those words, those lines in your head.  Then jot them down right away, lest you forget.  Just keep writing, let your creative juices flow… it is easy to edit afterwards, anyway.

Before you know it, you have created a masterpiece… Something for the world to enjoy and learn from.  Or maybe not.

At the very least, you would have created a blog entry.  Much like this one. 🙂

12468113_10153459300168737_1260065781_n

This is just so ME!

 

***

photo credits : “To blog or not to blog” via microweber.com ; “Writer hard at work” via FB page of author Susan Elizabeth Phillips (I just love her!)

 

 

2 thoughts on “Blogging day #2

Leave a Reply

