#Selfie #Trending

like

#Please #Like

I don’t think I will EVER understand Facebook… or the people on Facebook —  to be more specific, my Facebook friends.

I am sure everybody knows by now that Facebook is the perfect, PERFECT platform for showing off.  Okay, maybe not just showing off, but “sharing” information.

Do you want people to see your new dress, shoes, car, house, etc.?– post a photo on Facebook.  If you are popular enough, you will get a hundred likes in an hour.

Do you want people to know how your day is going or how your day went? Post a status… don’t forget to add the emoticon that best describes your condition.  Again, if you have a lot of friends, then expect  barrage of comments and likes.  Some will even ask if they can share your status (this one I really DO wonder why).

Do you want affirmation? Acknowledgment? Do you need to hear how gorgeous, young looking you are?  Strike a pose and post a selfie!  Check your post every thirty minutes and feel like a celebrity throughout the day.  Because chances are your friends will click like.

Because friends do that.  Friends support each other.  Especially if you were kind enough to like a selfie they posted just recently, of course they will remember and return the gesture! Facebook friendship rocks!!

***

I have always wondered how some people get to generate a lot of likes whenever they post a photo.  I have noticed that in my case, my posts that garnered the most likes were pictures of my son and his team winning a tournament… or when my son gets an award in school… and that’s basically it.  Getting ten likes for one photo is a blessing.  I need to tag my friends if I want my photo to get more likes.  But if it’s a selfie… hmm, it may seem pretty weird — desperate even– to tag my friends just so they’ll like my picture, right?  Besides, do they really care seeing me drinking coffee… Or me reading a book… Or me all glammed up ready to go malling…

What makes a selfie tick?

Yesterday early morning, as I was preparing breakfast, I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror.  I was still in my nightshirt, my hair clipped on one side, my face and lips were pale sans make up.  I didn’t look like how I normally look (which is like a movie star! Haha!).  Yet I looked fresh and young.  I liked what I saw…

And so, I did the unthinkable.  Even before I made my first cup of coffee for the day, I took a photo of my chemical free face and posted it on Instagram and shared it on Facebook.  What a bold move.  Me, make up free?! I must be out of my mind.

Strangest thing is — my FB friends started liking the photo.  Halfway through the day, I already had 40 likes.  For someone who is used to 5 and is happy with 10, anything above 20 was a world record.  AND the likes kept coming but I stopped counting at 50.  I didn’t want to appear so excited– and smug.

That selfie made my day.  It was unplanned, it was effortless, but it made me feel good about myself.

It made me realize, too, that my FB friends have such weird taste.  Oh, but I’m not complaining. 🙂

#selfie

#selfie

***

Simple reminder, though: Try not to let Facebook likes or comments define you.

*****  

photos via Google images

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

