Today I pray…

it's a wonderful day

it’s a wonderful day

 

Today I pray for patience.  Patience to understand people.  Patience that will give me strength not to answer back or say something that I might eventually regret.  Patience that will keep me from stooping to someone’s level.  Patience.

***

at 8am?  Seriously??!

at 8am? Seriously??!

8 o’clock in the morning, I received a call from a delivery guy asking for the complete address of the person I sent a package to.  There was nothing wrong with him wanting to know all the details — house number, street name, etc.  What ticked me off was the way he answered back.  His manner of speaking, his tone of voice… it was like he was talking to an idiot.

But wait, the last time I checked, I was the client.  I was the one who paid for their services… so basically the company he works for was servicing me.  Talk about courtesy and politeness.

I replied to delivery guy with a voice several volumes louder and the tone higher than normal.  I could feel myself ready to talk down to the guy…

And then I paused… took a deep breath…  and firmly and calmly answered his questions.    Without the drama.

***

It happens.  Some people rub you the wrong way.  And yes, some people can be just plain rude and discourteous.  But I guess the challenge is for us not to take the bait and mindlessly react.  We don’t have to be like them.

So I pray for more patience.  Patience towards difficult people.

Let me be the bigger person.  

********

photos via office.com

One thought on “Today I pray…

Leave a Reply

