Lesson for today: Integrity

Mental Note!!!

The events that happen in our everyday lives teach us valuable lessons.  The lesson I learned from today’s experiences was about integrity.

I came home from my son’s early Saturday morning baseball game feeling frustrated, disappointed and very much disgusted at some people.  It is amazing how  some people will go great lengths in order to win.  Forget about imparting values to the players.  To some people, it’s “win at all cost.”  Forget respect, no remorse, never mind the conscience.

I am too exhausted to even tell the story of what transpired today.  Maybe in time… when I am ready… When I am more in control of my emotions and I am no longer as involved as I am now.  In time I will share why today I feel like punching the living daylights out of someone — or some people, for that matter.

***

Allow me to share with you some quotes on that thing called INTEGRITY.  I believe it helps to be reminded…

“If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.”
―   J.K. Rowling,    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire 

“If you don’t stand for something you will fall for anything.”
―    Malcolm X 

“Remember, if the time should come when you have to make a choice between what is right and what is easy, remember what happened to a boy who was good, and kind, and brave, because he strayed across the path of Lord Voldemort.  Remember Cedric Diggory.”
―    J.K. Rowling,  Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

“They’re certainly entitled to think that, and they’re entitled to full respect for their opinions… but before I can live with other folks I’ve got to live with myself.  The one thing that doesn’t abide by majority rule is a person’s conscience.”
―   Harper Lee,   To Kill a Mockingbird 

In the end you should always do the right thing even if it’s hard.”
―    Nicholas Sparks,    The Last Song

“Real integrity is doing the right thing, knowing that nobody’s going to know whether you did it or not.”
―    Oprah Winfrey

“I am not bound to win, but I am bound to be true. I am not bound to
succeed, but I am bound to live up to what light I have.”
―    Abraham Lincoln

“Our deeds determine us, as much as we determine our deeds.”
―    George Eliot,    Adam Bede

Yes, sometimes it is a question of doing what is popular versus doing what is right.

Choose to do what is right… whether you have an audience or no one’s watching.  Because you will know.  And you can’t escape that knowledge.

Do the right thing even if it’s hard.

**********

quotes from goodreads “quotes about integrity.”

photo via google images

 

Leave a Reply

