Scents and Sensibilities

smorgasbord

Scents have a way of making you remember a certain person… or moment…

Have you ever walked through a perfume section of a store, get a whiff of a certain scent and then start feeling like you were transported to another place in time?

You smell a certain perfume and you get reminded of an old love… maybe your first boyfriend… or perhaps it’s some guy you had a summer fling with… or maybe you get reminded of your college best friend… or of the prettiest girl in high school — the one you all loved to hate… or maybe you remember your favorite teacher… or your favorite aunt…

Isn’t it amazing how scents can joggle your memory?

***

ooh la la…

Truth be told, I am a perfume lover.  If I am to be crass, I can say that I am a perfume wh@r3 (pardon the language… but i think that describes me best).  Buying perfume is some form of therapy for me.  I have panic attacks when I see that my last bottle is halfway done.  I need to replenish fast or I’ll totally be in the foulest of moods.

I know that expensive perfume is a luxury to some.  It is a luxury to me.  But then wearing perfume IS a daily habit.  It’s one of the things that I know I have to do before I step out of the house.  A few quick sprays… and then some more… and I’m off.  Smelling as beautiful as I can ever be…

***

Sharing a few of  my favorites… (What’s in my perfume cabinet at the moment)

Flavor of the month

A great find.  Got one on sale together with this…

Yummy!!

Tell me, how can I resist?!

This is my regular day scent:

ooh so fresh…

Perfect for malling and/or lunches or coffee with girlfriends.

When I want to smell fun and girly, I spray this:

Happiness in a bottle!!

When I want to smell sexy, I use this:

I’m so channeling JLo!

And the list goes on and on and on…

***

I distinctly remember one day when I was still in college, I was walking down the halls of one building, and I happened to pass by an open classroom.  A friend of mine was in that class, seated at the back of the room, near the door.  I saw him looking straight ahead, listening intently to the teacher.  There was a slight breeze that blew as I passed… and then my friend, without taking his eyes off the teacher, smiled and said my name.  Then he looked out and saw me.

The scent was haunting.  That was the term he used.

In a good way.

This was my perfume then…

Can’t help but feel beautiful, as well.

***

Feeling a bit low? Go treat yourself to a bottle of your favorite perfume.

A spritz here, a dab there.  Believe me, it will work wonders to your mood.  Try it.

Unforgettable.  That’s what you will be.

**********

photos via google images

Leave a Reply

