Keeping Up with Caffrey

What are you watching??

Watching tv has been a rare luxury.

However, there was a time months ago — and I mean many months ago — when I still got to watch tv in the mornings, after my son has gone to school and my husband to work.  Since the malls and banks were still closed and it was still quite early to run 1001 mommy errands,  I had a few hours to spare lounging in front of our tv to catch up on the shows that aired.

Sometimes I get to watch a nice movie on HBO or Star Movies… there were a few times I got to catch reruns of shows I used to like (ie., Grey’s Anatomy, Criminal Minds). But MOST of the time I end up watching a show that revolves around the seemingly normal lives of people who are far from being normal… For some reason I end up keeping up with the Kardashians.  And proud of it, I am truly not.

can you keep up?

Reality tv shows can be addictive.  I think there’s a need in each of us to feel like we are no different from any celebrity.  I know some people derive self- worth from that.  I mean, Kim Kardashian does normal things, things that I do in my everyday life — like sleep (though she wakes up fully made up.  Oh well, I can do that, too).  Kim K also eats, goes to the bathroom, gets pimples, complains about her hips and butt (they actually had an episode where she had a butt xray!).

Watching reality shows somehow gives one the feeling that he or she is no different from any celebrity.  There’s that “I may not be famous but I breathe the same air as the Kardashians” feeling.  That and the realization that these celebrities are people, too, and are equally flawed as each of us.  Somehow it makes one think that these actors and actresses are not way up there… that they can be normal. Yeah, save for the fact that they are a gazillion dollars richer, they are really no different from you and me.

*****

This is basically why I don’t really watch tv much.  I get too involved.  I overthink.  My husband keeps reminding me, “It’s JUST a show.”  But sometimes I just can’t help but analyze the episodes — reality shows or not.  I even write down and memorize some lines that I think are really nice or sounded witty (might be useful someday…)

Thing is, as I go through my everyday life, I know for a fact that there is no script somewhere that I have to follow.  I know that I have to make decisions, I have to make choices, all on my own.  I don’t always have the luxury of consulting someone when faced with a situation.  I don’t have to perform in front of an audience… though I  know there are times when I have to.

TV watching is a form of escape from reality.  It is supposed to entertain.  In every essence, that’s really just what it is supposed to do.  You don’t find answers to your problems by channeling Kim K.  Somehow her fashion sense and her high pitched voice won’t help you solve real life problems.

Other people think that watching tv is purely just a waste of time.

*****

I still like to be entertained, though.  I still savor that one to two hours of tv time that I can squeeze in my sked every now and then.  I still overanalyze some shows and some characters.  But I also know when I’m getting too far involved.

I stopped watching the Kardashians when I realized that I was beginning to sound like Kim K when I talked. Eeew.

*swoon*

Lately I catch myself looking forward to reruns of White Collar.  I have spent the past three mornings on my couch, in front of the tv, staring at the dreamy face of Neal Caffrey.  No overanalyzing here, though.  Sometimes I don’t even listen to the dialogues.

I just enjoy looking at Matt Bomer.  He somehow reminds me that there is beauty in this world.  Enough said.

did i say i’m smitten?

*****

photos via google images

Leave a Reply

