Of Primrose and Effie

Must Read?!

My son has been trying to convince me for the longest time to read the Hunger Games series.

Day 1.

Son: Mom, you have to read Hunger Games.  You’re gonna love it. Promise.

Me: Okay, if I find the time to do so.  (You know how busy moms can be!)

Son:  You will find time if you really want to.  Here’s the book.

Day 2.

Son:  Have you started?

Me: Not yet, maybe tonight before I sleep.

Nighttime.

Son: Are you reading?  What chapter?  What page are you in?

Me: Yes. Chapter 1. Page 1. Shush.

Day 3.

Son:  What have you read so far?

Me:  (Sounding oh so bored and uninterested) I think I’m on page 2.

Son:  Grrr.

***

Truth be told, I really wasn’t THAT interested at first.  I thought it was too juvenile.  I saw the movie photos and that reinforced my disinterest.  It had to take a great deal of coaxing from my son before I pick the book up and try to read a few pages.

Until one morning while we were in the car…

Son:  Oh my gosh mom,  your eyes!! 

Me: (In near panic) Why?! What about my eyes??

Son:  Are you wearing purple eye makeup??!

Me:  (Fluttering my lashes) Oh, yes. Do you like it? It’s pretty, huh?! 

Son:  You look like Effie Trinket.

Me:  (confused)  Effie who?!

Son:  You haven’t read the book. 

Me: Oh. Busted.

Son:  Say this, “Primrose Everdeen…” (with a shrilly voice and weird accent)

Me: (mimicking him)  Primrose Everdeen…

Son:  Okay, now that’s scary.  You sound exactly like her.

***

That was enough to make me read the book.

Over the weekend, we watched the movie, too.  When Effie Trinket first came out, I noticed that she WAS wearing purple eye makeup. My son and I exchanged looks and we started laughing.

Best part was when she called out the name Primrose Everdeen…  I couldn’t help but say it out loud as well, but I don’t think anyone noticed.

 ***

I liked the book, really.  Once I started truly reading, I couldn’t put it down.  I commend the author’s (Suzanne Collins) imagination.   The story is quite fast-paced and action packed.  The theme may be somewhat violent, but what I like about it is the sense of humanity that still prevails in the story.

I am on book 2 (Catching Fire) now, and I still am pretty hooked.

I'm on Book 2...

… and yes, I still use the Effie make up… much to my son’s dismay.

************

photo credit:  photos and books shown are all mine 🙂

2 thoughts on “Of Primrose and Effie

Leave a Reply

