Best friends and long walks

As I was checking the files in my computer, I saw this picture in one of the folders…

Best of Friends

Two things came to mind.

Thought #1:  That picture was taken at the Huntington Botanical Gardens in Pasadena sometime before the end of March of this year.  Look closely and you will see two people walking, following the long and winding path (towards heaven knows where… towards more plants, I suppose!). 

That’s me and my cousin-best friend enjoying a pleasant, breezy afternoon together… getting lost in the vast gardens… taking pictures of different plants and flowers… chatting non-stop all the way.  It was a beautiful afternoon.  Everything was nice and easy.

It is quite rare for the two of us to enjoy a lovely day together since we live in different parts of the earth.  Our friendship is somewhat transatlantic.  Her family moved to another country when she was I think only six (and I was seven)… and we sustained our friendship mainly through mails.  From snail mail to email.  Thanks to modern technology, we get to chat almost everyday… it’s like we don’t have the whole Pacific Ocean between us.

Yes, we’ve been through a lot together, though we were apart.  She knows more about me than probably any other human being, and vice versa.  We vent, we rant, we make fun of other people, we make fun of ourselves. We giggle like high school girls.  We talk about all the guys we have gone out with — from the pleasant to the hideous.  We share our dreams, we share secrets… we talk about our mistakes, yet we don’t judge.  In the words of Meredith Grey and Cristina Yang, we are each other’s “person.”

I visited her last March and stayed with her for a couple of weeks.  She thought of bringing me to Pasadena one day, and we decided to check out the Huntington Library and Botanical Gardens while we were there.  We walked a lot and we talked a lot.  It was a nice afternoon spent with a best friend. 

Everybody needs a best friend.  And truly, friendship knows no distance. 

Thought #2:  As I stared at the picture, I suddenly got reminded of this short story that I read when I was in high school.  It was a love story written by Kurt Vonnegut, Jr., entitled “Long Walk to Forever.”

Maybe it’s the winding path or maybe the greenery all around that reminded me of that short story.  And so I thought of googling it so I can read it once more. 

I read and I couldn’t help but smile.  I can’t help but feel exactly the same way I did the first time I read it some twenty something years back.

Before I get all mushy, here’s a link to that heartwarming short story:    http://www.angelfire.com/or/grace/longwalk.html

May it also bring a smile to your heart.

*** *** *** *** ***

Credits:

photo taken at Huntington Botanical Gardens (Huntington Library), Pasadena, Ca. sometime in March 2011

“Long Walk to Forever” by Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. link via angelfire.com

2 thoughts on “Best friends and long walks

Leave a Reply

